Bruce Springsteen

Varför går jag på så många konserter med Bruce Springsteen. Jo, det är nog jakten på den perfekta konserten som lockar mig. Att få uppleva en kväll då allt stämmer. Jag var nära i Albany 2007 och på Ullevi förra året. Men det kan nog bli ännu bättre. 

Springsteen Unlimited

By Domenico Morello


When it comes to Bruce, I find myself thinking about limits. I was at 2008's Milan show, and that was my personal sense of where the limits were: it was impossible for me to believe Bruce could surpass that perfect show, in terms of emotion, passion, devotion, solid rock. Well, on this night in Turin, the man and his E Street companions broke all the limits, and to me and all the crowd it was a memorable night.

Six tour premieres, with some real rarities-last "Travelin' Band" was in 2004; last "My Love Will Not Let You Down" in 2003-and pure energetic rock from the start (a majestic "Loose Ends") to the 15 minutes of "Twist and Shout"/"La Bamba" that ended the "fiesta." Along the way there was the brief snippet of "Louie Louie" at the end of "Glory Days," and the perfect pairing of "Two Hearts" with "It Takes Two," with Springsteen as ever nodding to the classics that came before him.

But the truly remarkable moments came from Springsteen's own songbook. Like when someone (thank you, blood brother!) gave Bruce three sealed envelopes, all three containing requests for "Drive All Night." The band rendition was one of the most intense I've ever heard in many years of listening to bootlegs. Or when during "Waitin' on a Sunny Day" Bruce asked a shy, young baby boy to sing the chorus, or when he chose a pretty young girl to dance with him during "Dancing In The Dark." Or when Professor Roy started playing "Backstreets," giving me a deep fear that my heart would not tolerate such a strong emotion.

Bruce was confident and generous: he gave the crowd literally all he could, even when towards the end his voice, during his "Torino, Torino, Torino!" invocation, seemed a little bit at the end itself. The band also was at a very high level, and the sound was pure power. The "biggest Italian man" (as Bruce called Clarence) seemed to be reborn, and his sax sounded hard, magnificent, simply perfect.

What more can I tell you? I was ready for a great night of rock, as it always is when Bruce comes to Italy, and I was lucky enough to catch the night, to see him break all the limits I had imagined, to be part of a little piece of history passing by. Thank you, Bruce-now it's clear to me what it really means to be "working on a dream."


Saxat från www.brucespringsteen.net
Han beskriver det bra!


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0